APEC’s Policy Partnership on Science, Technology and Innovation (PPSTI)’s vision is that “by 2025, APEC will have achieved innovative economic growth through PPSTI’s efforts.” (PPSTI Strategic Plan 2016-2025)

PPSTI’s mission is to “support the development of science and technology cooperation as well as effective science, technology, and innovation policy recommendations in APEC through collaboration between government, academia, private sector and other APEC fora”.

PPSTI was formed in 2012 when APEC agreed to broaden the mandate of the former APEC Industrial Science and Technology Working Group (ISTWG) to include issues of innovation policy development and intensify cooperation among governments, businesses and academia, thereby transforming the ISTWG into the PPSTI. A new terms of reference outlining the PPSTI’s mandate and goals was endorsed.

In 2016, PPSTI held its two meetings in Peru – the summary records can be found on this page (see links to the right).

In addition, PPSTI supports a range of cutting-edge APEC projects.

Last page update: September 2016

Current Activities

2016 ASPIRE Prize

“ASPIRE” stands for the APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education, an annual award which recognizes young scientists who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in scientific research. Each year, the APEC host economy provides a theme for the ASPIRE Prize. For its host year of 2016, Peru has selected ‘Technologies for Food Security’ as the ASPIRE theme. The 2016 ASPIRE Prize was awarded to Dr Hua Kuang of the People’s Republic of China!

To Read: 2016 ASPIRE Prize .


PPSTI saw cross-fora collaboration with the Economic Committee and Human Resources Development Working Group (please hyperlink both) and new connections forged with ABAC and the International Association of Science Parks. PPSTI 7 held an Innovation Policy Sharing Seminar on ‘Promoting Entrepreneurship for Quality Growth’ featuring public, private and academic presentations while PPSTI 8 held an APEC Research and Technology side-event on the SDGs and Climate Change. PPSTI 8 also presented the ASPIRE Prize for 2016 and finalized the group’s responses to its 2015 Independent Assessment.


Christin Kjelland (Ms)
U.S. Department of State
Bureau of Oceans and International Environmental and Scientific Affairs (OES)
Email: KjellandC@state.gov
Chen Linhao (Mr)
Department of International Cooperation
Ministry of Science and Technology People's Republic of China Address: 15B Fuxing Road, Beijing 100862, China
Email: chenlh@most.cn
Bernard Li (Mr)
Program Director
APEC Secretariat
Email: bl@apec.org


25 Feb 2017 Policy Partnership on Food Security (PPFS) Meeting Nha Trang, Viet Nam
19 Feb 2017 Policy Partnership on Science, Technology and Innovation (PPSTI) Nha Trang, Viet Nam
18 Feb 2017 Policy Partnership on Science, Technology and Innovation (PPSTI): Sub-Groups on Capacity Building, Innovation, Connectivity Nha Trang, Viet Nam